Press Room

21C Media Group Congratulates Its Grammy Nominees

Alan Gilbert, music director designate of the New
York Philharmonic, has received a Grammy nomination for one of his
first recordings – Prokofiev’s Scythian Suite with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra on the CSO’s own label; the Flute Concerto by Marc-André Dalbavie
(subject of a Composer Portrait this very week at Columbia University’s
Miller Theatre) is nominated as Best Classical Contemporary
Composition, on EMI Classics; and pianist Leif Ove Andsnes gets the nod for two Mozart Concertos that he conducts from the keyboard with the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra, also on EMI Classics,
the label for which the Norwegian keyboard star has recorded
exclusively for more than 15 years. 21C Media Group represents both the
pianist and the label honored in those two nominations.

A significant number of other projects represented by 21C Media Group also received coveted nominations. Isabel Bayrakdarian, singing music by Gomidas on Nonesuch
– the first major-label recording of music by Armenia’s national
composer – is nominated for best Classical Vocal Performance (With
Orchestra). 21C Media’s Alison Ames executive produced the album for
Nonesuch, which was recorded in Armenia by a team headed by veteran
producer Wilhelm Hellweg. Pianist Gloria Cheng is
singled out for her Best Instrumental Performance (Without Orchestra)
of several works, including one by Steven Stucky, composer of the evening-long concert drama August 4, 1964, recently premiered by the Dallas Symphony Orchestra.

The visionary French label naïve classique released Rinaldo Alessandrini’s authentic recording of Monteverdi’s Orfeo, which is one of the five contenders for Best Opera Recording. Tan Dun’s First Emperor starring Plácido Domingo, released on DVD by EMI Classics in conjunction with Metropolitan Opera Live,
is nominated in the same category. Also on EMI Classics is one of the
recordings nominated for Best Choral Performances, Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms conducted by Simon Rattle.

Finally, versatile British violinist Daniel Hope,
newly signed to the Deutsche Grammophon label, participated in DG’s
“Terezín / Theresienstadt” recording project, for which Anne Sofie von
Otter received a nomination in the Best Vocal Performance (With
Orchestra) category.

• Prokofiev: Scythian Suite – Alan Gilbert conducts the Chicago Symphony Orchestra – part of the “Silk Road” project on CSO RESOUND (Best Orchestral Performance)

Marc-André Dalbavie: Concerto Pour Flûte, performed by Emmanuel Pahud
on EMI Classics (Best Classical Contemporary Composition)

Mozart: Piano Concertos Nos. 17 & 20, conducted and played by Leif
Ove Andsnes on EMI Classics (Best Instrumental Soloist[s] Performance
[With Orchestra])

• “Gomidas Songs”, performed by Isabel Bayrakdarian on Nonesuch Records (Best Classical Vocal Performance)

• Monteverdi: L’Orfeo, conducted by Rinaldo Alessandrini on naïve classique (Best Opera Recording)

• Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms, conducted by Simon Rattle on EMI Classics (Best Choral Performance)

• “Baroque”, performed by Gabriela Montero on EMI Classics (Best Classical Crossover Album)

• Tan Dun: The First Emperor DVD on EMI Classics (Best Opera Recording)

Return to Press Room