Press Room

New York City Ballet’s “Architecture of Dance” presents Mirage premiere

Hailed by the New York Times as an “ambitious festival of modern music,” the “Architecture of Dance” festival has brought new music and architecture to the forefront of dance this spring.  Following world premieres of three new scores by Thierry Escaich, Jay Greenberg, and Bruno Moretti and six new ballets choreographed by Melissa Barak, Mauro Bigonzetti, Wayne McGregor, Benjamin Millepied, Alexei Ratmansky, and Christopher Wheeldon, the New York City Ballet’s “Architecture of Dance: New Choreography and Music Festival” culminates on June 22 with its final premiere: Mirage, set to Esa-Pekka Salonen’s powerful Violin Concerto, with choreography by New York City Ballet’s ballet master-in-chief Peter Martins and scenic design by Santiago Calatrava.  The Violin Concerto, a co-commission of the NYCB, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, will receive its New York premiere with the composer conducting the New York City Ballet Orchestra with violin soloist Leila Josefowicz, the concerto’s dedicatee.  When Salonen and Josefowicz premiered the work with the Los Angeles Philharmonic in April, Mark Swed described it as “pure, euphoric poetry with a singular sound and voice” (Los Angeles Times).

Commissioned score by Esa-Pekka Salonen; new ballet (Mirage) by Peter Martins

World premiere: Tuesday, June 22 at 7:30pm
Wed, June 23 at 7:30pm
Sat, June 26 at 2pm and 8pm

Ticket purchases

Tickets are available through Center Charge at (212) 721-6500, through the NYCB web site,, and at the theater’s box officeTicket prices range from $15 to $125.

All performances will take place at the David H. Koch Theater, which is located on the Lincoln Center Plaza at Columbus Avenue and 63rd Street.  For general information on tickets for any New York City Ballet performance, call (212) 870-5570, or visit

# # #

© 21C Media Group, June 2010

Return to Press Room